Happy new year.

I am not a new year wish, resolution making, partying kind of a person. Usually. Till recently, I would not even understand what the fuss was all about. The need to suddenly  celebrate just because we switched to a new desk calender seemed a tad excessive. My resolutions come in bursts throughout the year and so, there was no urgent need to make one on January, the first!I have zero tolerance for alcohol, so I cannot drink champagne and bring in the new year in style. My brain switches off at ten thirty sharp, so I cannot watch late night tv shows  welcoming in the new year! In short, apart from wishing everyone the next morning, I had pretty much no excitement in the concept.

2015 has been a mixed bag for me. It has been a time of major upheavals both personal and otherwise,  subtly changing the way I think. I like to call myself the idealistic pessimist. I always believe that Utopian ideals work well, but am pessimistic when they do not work out in a realistic material world. Like say, world peace!!:). Therefore, this year and its shenanigans made me more pessimistic than usual. What with intolerance debates, the lynching controversy, multiple bans, the Syrian refugee crisis, Delhi pollution levels,the Nirbhaya convict who got away, the drought…. You get the drift. (I do not want you to sink into depression on new year day).

I was at that point in life where anything good would feel as if it had been rigged to feel so, and anything bad, was meant to happen anyway. And that’s when I saw this video, which someone sent me on whatsapp.

<https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnlULOjUhSQ&gt&gt;

The video is not colorful nor has nothing of surprise value.

It just shows a electron microscopic picture of how one human white blood cell is hell bent upon killing a bacterium which has entered the system.

Watching this video sort of changed something within me. Imagine that everyday, so many such cells within our body and nature keep on doing their work, without actually thinking of the big picture. Just efficient, sincere work with single minded dedication.

With zero appreciation from our end, no bonuses or pay hikes or fancy holidays (or new year parties, for that matter). To top it all, we try our best to harm our system by eating trash, falling sick and generally not taking care of ourselves that well. But , the system still works, with no complaints whatsoever.

My perspective of life shifted ever so little. Whenever someone would tell me that I have been lucky in my life, I usually would have had a long list of complaints to convince them otherwise. I was set upon proving to myself and the world that I was not all lucky.

This year, I think I am. To be alive enough to enjoy this day, to enjoy my health and my family, for my senses which add spice to my world (and spectacles to my eyes(:) for those tiny tiny cells within my body who work with such miraculous perfection, so that I can dream of a future.

Being alive is an opportunity to cause change and be the change.Lets tap into our dreams or make new ones  and work hard on them, like those tiny cells do.

And before I start sounding like a life style guru spouting isms, I wish you all a very happy new year.

I so do want to celebrate it this time!

12 thoughts on “Happy new year.

  1. Parul Thakur January 1, 2016 / 10:06 am

    Loved your post. Honest and straight from the heart. I welcome new year but not by partying or something. I do my favorite things and ensure 1st is a happy day. I believe my year will be like my 1 st day of the year. Silly but yes I do take it seriously. So I eat my favorite food, hang around my people, sleep, read, write, smile and like wise 😀
    Life is a blessing. What we have however mundane, it lovely and we need to be grateful for that.

    Like

    • preethishanbhag January 1, 2016 / 10:48 am

      Thanks Parul.You are right about the fact that we need to enjoy each moment of the day. Hope we can do this every day of this year. Wish you a very happy new year

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Suneela January 1, 2016 / 4:52 pm

    Such an wonderful perspective to all things around us Preethi!! Loved it 😘😘😘

    Like

  3. Rashmi Appannavar January 1, 2016 / 6:11 pm

    Madam read your article regarding new year resolution. Well-written and contained sound, practical advice. In fact, I have benefited from your discussion.
    Some take it seriously. Some bid it farewell just after the clock strikes twelve. Some call it a Second Chance to Dream with Eyes Open.
    I don’t need New Year’s resolutions to motivate me in my life/career because New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day really aren’t any different from other days.
    I work hard, but I also know when I need time off. Make confident choices based on what really matters to me, and jump in with both feet. N I believe that we don’t live 1s $ die 1s. We live everyday and die 1s.
    we are only human and there’s always next year, right?
    I look forward to reading your next informative work. Thank you.

    Like

    • preethishanbhag January 2, 2016 / 3:36 am

      So true rashmi. May all your hard work pay off. Make the best of the opportunity and enjoy the year to the fullest

      Like

  4. Zephyr January 3, 2016 / 7:29 am

    I am becoming a fan of your writing, Preethi! This was such a simple post bringing home the point so well. Loved the determined while blood cell chasing the bacterium! 🙂 Wish you a wonderful new year dear!

    Like

    • preethishanbhag January 4, 2016 / 12:12 pm

      Thank you so much madam. Wish you a very happy new year too!

      Like

  5. Asha Srikanth January 3, 2016 / 6:31 pm

    It was as usual a pleasure reading your blog post. I was working on 31st night going into the 1st, so happily excused myself from any partying. A sober and clearer start to the new year seems so much nicer! Happy 2016 Preethi!

    Like

  6. preethishanbhag January 4, 2016 / 12:10 pm

    thanks Asha.Hope your year goes from better to best! Happy new year

    Like

  7. Vasudha Rao January 21, 2016 / 3:43 am

    Yet again a beautiful travelogue!!! Loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

