The infallible logic of a five year old.

logic

A week into her kindergarten year, I had this conversation with my daughter, all the while trying unsuccessfully to stuff a spoon full of food into her mouth!

Five year old : Amma, I have twins in my class. P and P. Both are boys.

Me: That’s great.  (happy that she now knows what twins are!).

Then I wonder and ask….

Me: How do you know they are twins? Do they look similar??

Five y o: No, they don’t.

Me: Do they dress the same?

Five y o: Amma, everyone wears the school uniform! Everyone dresses the same.

Me: Oh, sorry, I forgot. Then how did you find out?

Five y o: Well, they bring same same snack in their tiffin box! So.

Go figure.

Trying to get the better of her, I prod: But they may be brothers, don’t you think?

Five y o: Yeah, but then they would’nt both be in the same class, would they?

Logic accepted.

As parents, we take parenting for granted. Kids get born, grow, go to school and then they are adults. Though we care for them, most of it is restricted to knowing whether they have had their meal, finished their home work and are not watching too much Doremon.

But kids seem to live in a parallel universe where every single moment is a discovery. Everything is a mystery which has to be unraveled, solved and sorted. They are keen observers. And connect the dots available in front of their curious eyes. Slowly put two and two together. And most times come up with two hundred and twenty two!

They are inquisitive and eager to learn. For us, sharpening a pencil, choosing the correct footwear for the correct leg, coloring between the lines, the symmetry of the picture they draw or strapping on the velcro of a shoe feel like the most simple thing in the world. But when I watch my kids grow, I can feel the mental effort and intense concentration it takes for them to understand and complete any new task. It takes all my effort to stop myself from helping them, and allow them to try till they succeed.

It takes situations such as the one mentioned above,to understand that the world must look different from their point of view. We hardly have time to explain the working of the world to them, and they simply have to make sense of it! Hence, probably they create their own sweet logic which is refreshingly simple, even if incorrect! Never mind the stuffy adults!

In the little time I get to interact with my little ones, I get nuggets like these which I want to store away in the recesses of my mind, so that I can tell them to my grandkids. How I wish I could get more time with them, so that I could learn the way they did. Simple, and all sorted.

Sample this:

Five y o: Mamma, do cars jump? Can they drive in the sky?

Me: Why? Have you ever seen them do it?

Five y o: Then, why is the traffic light pointing skyward???

Have you had experiences like these??

traffic light 2

 

12 thoughts on “The infallible logic of a five year old.

  1. Parul Thakur August 6, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    That’s a real smart one with traffic light. May be you could say the green is go and arrow is direction. Indeed smart.
    The one on twins is also pretty logical. Smart kid!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aishwarya Shanbhag August 7, 2016 / 6:39 pm

    Hi Preethi
    I came across your blog on FB. And I must say you write beautifully. Curious, I read about you. Inspiring to see that you find time for your passion. You have a lovely blog.

    Yes… Umpteen stories that I came across when my children were of that beautiful age. They view the world differently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • preethishanbhag August 8, 2016 / 2:25 pm

      Thank you Aishwarya for all the praise. It feels more special when someone reads n enjoys what I have written. 😊😊

      Like

  3. Shivananda August 8, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Enjoyed reading it. I feel blessed because II get to spend a lot of time with them, mostly 7 and above. Yet, they actually open up the world for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gauri August 9, 2016 / 10:16 am

    Its such a treat to see the world through their eyes. Full of such innocence and curiosity. A lovely read Preethi.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. grubitizer August 11, 2016 / 3:41 am

    Interesting Read Preeti, we always tend to miss such things from the younger ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • preethishanbhag August 11, 2016 / 9:34 am

      Thanks.This is the first time ever that I have been picked for something, anything…so I am mighty excited.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

